TED books, mentors, and more

This week, I’ve been hard at work on my fieldwork project for my special libraries class.  I’m helping to create a mini collection of resources for K-12 (but really mostly elementary grades) educators.  Right now, I’m working on a ton of bibliographies and I’ve been learning a lot during the process.  I plan to write a separate post on it soon.

I also had an awesome informational interview this morning with the librarian at the John G. Shedd Aquarium in Chicago.  I have found that librarians in any setting are so generous with their time, whether in person, by phone, or through email, and it’s inspiring and helping to keep me motivated with I hustle through my MLIS program.

This weekend, I’m going to treat myself to a facial, volunteer, spend some time with a friend, and who knows what else.

Here’s some links that I liked this week.

A volunteer-run prison library.  I’m fascinated with prison librarianship, so I appreciated this.

The opportunities and challenges of being a solo librarian.

DIY projects from vintage books.

The power of mentors.  I love mentorship, whether I’m the mentor or mentee.  Everyone benefits.

7 apps for reading and learning issues.

A Food for Fines program in Oregon, where late fees are forgiven with donations for the local food bank.  This may be in practice other places, but it’s the first I’ve heard of it.

The bible may become Louisiana’s first official state book.

Simon & Schuster to publish TED books.

Leave a comment