2016 Reading Wrap Up

I can’t believe it’s already time again for a reading wrap up.  2016 was a weird year, wasn’t it?  I’m looking forward to it being in the rear view mirror soon.

I didn’t read as many books as usual.  I think because it was my first free year after finishing grad school and I spent a lot of my time enjoying a social life again (another reason why I haven’t been blogging much this year!)  But, I still managed to read 32 books – not too shabby.

Total – 32
Percent fiction – 63%
Percent mystery/thriller –28%
Percent young adult –9%
Percent female authors – 34%
Percent nonfiction – 37% – up from 2%
Average per month – 2.6
Percent really liked – 24%
Percent just okay – 54%
Percent didn’t like – 22%

I started another four books that I didn’t finish, all four of which were advanced reading copies (ARCs) I got at the ALA conference last year.  Overall, I’ve sadly been unimpressed with the ARCs I got there and I learned my lesson that if I ever go again, I’ll be much more selective in which books I carry home.  Many of the books I got were those that publishers foisted upon me as I walked down the aisles and not what I’d usually read (as in lots of chick lit and kids’ books), but I was also trying to take advantage and explore new genres. It hasn’t been working out great, but I still have about 20 to go!

I again focused on reading more fiction (up from 31%) over young adult this year and succeeded (down from 25% to only 9%).  It was nice trying to focus on fiction, although I admit they weren’t all exactly “literary” and many were free books from ALA.

1651870_3217b5192d_b

Somehow my to read list on Goodreads has exploded to over 300 books.  I think it may be time to clean out some of the ones I’ll never get around to reading!  But, in 2017, in no particular order, I’d like to read:

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihira

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

A Man Called Ove by Frederik Backman

Stiletto (Rook Files #2) by Daniel O’Malley.  I really liked the first book, but I read it a long time ago and may need to refresh my memory.

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi Klein

Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer. Because I finally saw the movie and now I’m intrigued.

Trespasser by Tana French

Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

And I saw this every year, but I’d like to try to read some short stories this year. Any suggestions on some good story collections?

What are some of the books you want to read in 2017?

I’ll share a few of my favorite books from this year soon!

PS Here’s my wrap ups from 2014 and 2013.

Image source.

 

Leave a Reply

