Vank Cathedral Museum and Library, Iran

I hope you had a wonderful holiday weekend!  Look at me disappearing again for a long time.  Sorry.  After the semester finished a couple of weeks ago, I just needed some offline time.  I was so excited to finish my website for my web design class (Libr 240 for SJSU people) that I forgot to submit the link to it!!  Oh my.

All is now well and I’m recovering.  I’ve been wanting to share these photos I took of the Vank Cathedral Museum and Library in Isfahan, Iran for a long time.  Vank Cathedral is in the Armenian Quarter of the city and has a lovely museum with historical books.

(click to enlarge)

Gospel, created 1633
vank1

Gospel, written in Istanbul and decorated in Isfahan, 17th century
vank2

Missal, created 1687
vank3

Phylactery, worn on an arm, 17th century (sorry for the blurry picture, but I wanted to show how large the entire thing is)
vank4

Detail of the phylactery with it’s tiny writing.  Each circle was about an inch or so.
vank5

Gospel, written in 1607
vank6

Another gospel from 1607
vank7

Gospel, written in 1671
vank8

Gospel from 1627
vank9
vank13

Missal from 1687
vank10

Monolagium written in 1661
vank12

Gospel from 1626
vank14

I think the colors and ornamentation on these are so gorgeous.

I do have many other ideas for blog posts and now that things have slowed down somewhat for me, I hope to start posting more regularly again!

Now reading: The Secret Place by Tana French

2 thoughts on “Vank Cathedral Museum and Library, Iran

Leave a Reply

