2014 reading wrap up

Wow, this year went by fast!  I feel like I say that every year, but this year really flew by for me.  It’s already time for my 2014 reading wrap up post.

I read far fewer books this year than last year because of a crazy schedule – 42 compared to 51.  Although 10 of these were for classes, I definitely managed to get in a good amount of reading for fun.

Total – 42
Percent read for school – 24%
Percent nonfiction – 2%
Percent fiction – 31%
Percent mystery – 10%
Percent young adult – 25%
Percent female authors – 60%
Average per month – 3.5
Percent liked (not counting schoolbooks) – 67%
Percent didn’t like – 17%

book stack

I started another four books that I didn’t finish.  I tried to read more fiction (up from 22%) and less young adult titles this year and succeeded (down from 37%).  Sometimes it’s nice to pick up a young adult book for a light read, but I’d like to keep focusing on more substantial fiction in 2015.  I think reading fewer YA titles this year contributed to my reading fewer books overall, but I’m okay with that.  I also happily liked more books that I read this year than last (67% compared to just 45% last year).

Looking back, I did read a few of the titles that I had hoped to get to this year (The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Divergent, and Burial Rites), but still have so many books I’d like to read (don’t we all?)!

I have about 125 books on my to read pile, but in 2015, I’d really like to read:

A Thousand Splendid Suns
The Fault in Our Stars
The Invention of Wings
The Underground Girls of Kabul
Doctor Sleep
The Long Way Home
As You Wish: Inconceivable Tales from the Making of the Princess Bride
NOS4A2

And I’d also like to try reading some short stories this year, so I need to look for some good collections.

What are some of the books on your to read list for 2015?

My favorite books of 2014 coming soon!

PS Here’s my 2013 reading wrap up.

Image source

One thought on “2014 reading wrap up

  1. Pingback: 2016 Reading Wrap Up | Crafter Librarian

Leave a Reply

