Edgewood Tales

Happy Friday! I don’t have a links post today because classes started on Monday and I’m feeling like…

Source

But, I do have some news to share!  A few days ago, I mentioned that I will be doing a special studies project this semester.  This project has been in the works for several months and am excited that I finally get to share more info on it.

My project will take place at Edgewood Center for Children and Families in San Francisco, a 163-year-old organization originally founded as an orphanage for Gold Rush orphans.  I will be surveying the agency for archival records, digitizing and indexing what I uncover, and donating items to the San Francisco History Center.  I plan to also begin an oral history project for the organization.

Long story short, in celebration of its 150th anniversary, the organization created the Edgewood collection donated it to the San Francisco History Center in 2003.  The collection contains images and records of former orphans, adoption files, administrative records, and more from Edgewood’s origins in 1851 through 1959.

The San Francisco Protestant Orphanage on Haight Street in 1871. © Edgewood Center for Children and Families. Permission to use granted by Edgewood.

The San Francisco Protestant Orphanage on Haight Street in 1871. © Edgewood Center for Children and Families. Permission to use granted by Edgewood.

However, some historical materials remain at Edgewood, as the original processing archivist was asked to leave some records behind.  These periodically turn up in random places by staff in places where they shouldn’t be found – such as desks and gym storage rooms.

The leadership at Edgewood is enthusiastic about the project and supports donating the items that weren’t originally allowed to go to the San Francisco History Center.  So, this semester, I’ll be going through the buildings again to uncover whatever else I can, as well as start an oral history project.  It will be a great experience with a paper-based collection.

I’ve started a new blog, Edgewood Tales, to document this project.  I hope you will check it out!

Have a wonderful Labor Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

