Bibliolinks: On book lover podcasts and more

Happy 4th of July!  I’m slowly catching up on life after craziness from work and getting taken down by a cold.  I am so looking forward to this weekend and seeing some friends.

My internship and class are coming along.  I’m a bit frustrated with my instructor because she took off for a conference in England right after summer session started and has barely been responding to emails or graded the two assignments so far.  In this class, each assignment builds off the last, so I’m debating about whether to start on the next one or wait for her feedback.  I think I might start on it just in case because she hasn’t said when she’s coming back!

The internship has been…interesting.  I’m learning a lot about communication.  So far I haven’t been able to complete any of my deliverables because their wishes keep changing.  I want them to get a reference guide (LibGuide) they are happy with, but I also want to keep things on track so I’m trying to figure it out.

sparkler cakeSource

5 great beach reads from Design*Sponge.

A video showing a day in the life of the NYPL.

Pennsylvania librarians get mental health sensitivity training.  Love this.  It’s so important.  Last year, I spoke with a librarian at my local branch and she told me how much she wished they gave trainings on working with the mentally ill.

The National Archives is uploading its digital collections to Wikimedia.

San Rafael Public Library offers the first ever library cards made of bamboo.  I want one.

The Library of Congress now has a Pinterest account!

7 surprises about libraries and their users, from Pew Research.

13 podcasts for book lovers.

Donna Tartt’s The Goldfinch read-alikes.  I may have to pick one of these up because there’s still about 300 people ahead of me on my library’s waitlist.

America’s 10 most unique libraries.

And some fun links to celebrate the 4th of July!

History of the Star Spangled Banner.

15 recipes for the 4th.

And 10 cocktails.

Have a wonderful, fun, and safe holiday weekend!

Leave a Reply

