Bibliolinks: On Pulitzer Prizes, antique globes, and cool libraries

Happy Friday!  This week, I registered for a summer class, kept plugging away at my final class projects, plus attended an SLA neighborhood dinner.  I will hopefully be planning a short trip this weekend to celebrate the upcoming end of the semester and rest and reinvigorate myself.  Also planning a fun day trip to Santa Cruz with a friend once the semester ends.  Sometimes I don’t know how to manage everything – full-time work, two classes, applying for scholarships, etc., and general life – but I try to stay motivated by continuing to meet actual librarians and other info science professionals.  All of them keep telling me to have an open mind for a future job position, which is a little scary, but I’m trying to follow their advice.  I’m exhausted by the idea of taking a summer class, but I know it’s the only way to keep up my momentum.

Anyway, here’s some fun links for the week!

Vincenzo Coronelli, Orbis coelestis typus, opus a V. Coronelli ... Anno R.S. 1693 Paris, 1693. British Library Maps G.55. - See more at: http://britishlibrary.typepad.co.uk/magnificentmaps/2014/04/the-art-and-history-of-globes-.html#sthash.PHMAfTp2.dpuf

Image source: Vincenzo Coronelli, Orbis coelestis typus, opus aV. Coronelli… Anno R.S. 1693 Paris, 1693.

The art and history of globes.  Lovely!

The 16 coolest college libraries in the US.

E. L. Doctorow awarded the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction.

I want this book on America’s public libraries.  And check out the author’s interview with NPR here.

Donna Tartt wins the Pulitzer Prize for fiction for The Goldfinch, plus all the winners.

A slideshow from CNN on more cool libraries.

12 road trip books written by women.  Inspiration for a summer vacation?

And what about 10 epic UK libraries?  Lots of slideshows came up this week, I think due to National Library Week.

21 female authors you should be reading.

An ideas box from Librarians Without Borders, a humanitarian tool kit complete with print books, laptops, HD cameras, board games, and more.

Have a great weekend!

PS: Now reading Citadel by Kate Mosse.  This is the final book of the trilogy and I’ve been looking forward to getting the chance to read it.

Leave a Reply

