Books to watch out for in April, and more

I missed last week’s link post due to a crazy busy week at work, trying to set up a summer internship (success!), and working on my final projects for my classes this semester.

But, it was still a great week.  I had the chance to meet my special libraries class instructor in person, who was in town from Chicago for a few days.  She was so nice and it was great to meet her in “real life” and chat.  I like how because my MLIS program is entirely online, I have had the opportunity to have classmates and instructors from all over the country, and even have classmates from Canada.

Last night, I joined in on a presentation by Stephen Abram of Stephen’s Lighthouse on personal influence.  It was a great talk and he has shared his presentation slides on his blog.  It gave some good tips to think about for the future.

I must be a glutton for punishment, because on top of work and school projects, I signed up to host an SLA dinner as part of their monthly neighborhood dinner events.  I hope people actually RSVP and join me!  I am looking forward to meeting more librarians, as well as probably other students.

bfce0a16b6b011e3bc38124489a0976e_8

Boston Public Library in legos. Source.

Here’s some links that interested me this week:

Human flesh-bound works in Harvard’s Rare Books Collection.  Wow.

Books to watch out for in April.  I read Room by Emma Donoghue, so I think I’ll check out her new book.  Which of these sound interesting to you?

The Library of Congress has selected 25 sound recordings to be added to its National Recording Registry, including those by U2, Linda Ronstadt, and Creedence Clearwater Revival.

Myanmar’s libraries, with a link to the first-ever national survey of its libraries.

23 gorgeous bookplates.  Want!

Collection care icons, licensed through Creative Commons, by the British Library.

The Queens Library scandal continues.

Currently reading:  I started Inferno by Dan Brown.  What are you reading?

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

