National Quilting Day resources

I hope you have been enjoying your week as much as I have.  We’ve been having surprisingly nice weather in SF that has been great.  I also got started on my fieldwork project for my special libraries class and was happy to discover that the project they chose for me was helping to develop a teacher resource collection.  I’ll be helping to identify all of the existing books in the main collection that may fit, and then what gaps in the collection need to be filled.  I started over the weekend and I think it should be pretty interesting.  They already have a large children’s collection, but will need more books for adults on working with children.

I don’t have any links to share with you this week.  Instead, to celebrate tomorrow being National Quilting Day, I am sharing a list of quilting books that I found for those who are interested in learning to quilt, or finding some new resources. I am pretty crafty, but haven’t tried quilting yet. These books offer a mix of vintage and modern patterns.  All of the following books were well-reviewed in publications such as Library Journal and Publishers Weekly.

quilt lab  Quilt Lab – the Creative Side of Science
Image source

crazyQuilting….just a little bit crazy
Image source

vintage quilt revivalVintage Quilt Revival 
Image source

modern slantQuilting with a Modern Slant
Image source

seaside quiltsSeaside Quilts – Starred review in Publishers Weekly
Image source

handy guideQuilters Handy Guide to Supplies and More
Image source

crispCrisp and Vibrant Quilts
Image source

amishAmish Quilts: The Adventure Continues
Image source

blackBlack & White, Bright & Bold
Image source

modern beeModern Bee
Image source

Any other recommendations for quilting books?

Now reading – The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski.  House of Leaves has been on my to-read list since it got published and I’m happy to finally get to it!

One thought on “National Quilting Day resources

  1. Pingback: 2014 in review | exbibliolibris

Leave a Reply

