Lemony Snicket prize and more

It’s been a long week, but I’m settling into my classes and finding my workflow.  I’m excited to see what I will learn this semester.

In other news, I joined the local Special Libraries Association chapter this week, too.  I’ve been thinking about it for a few months now.  I wasn’t sure if there would be benefits to membership if I wasn’t going to go to the annual conference, but the Bay Area chapter has a lot local events so I think it’s still worth it.  Plus, I’ve been to two of their events already (free to students!) and everyone I’ve spoken with has been really nice and open and encouraging.

the_wrestlers_hs85-10-15767

Image from the National Post

Here’s my favorite links of the week!

As if I needed another reason to love Lemony Snicket, now he’s gone and created a prize for librarians who has faced adversity.  It’s so open ended, I can’t wait to see what someone will win for.

Lovely story about a teen who used his library’s 3-D printer to make a prosthetic hand for a boy.  Such innovation and inspiration!

Library cat burglar turns out to really be a cat.

The Vatican Library and Japanese institutions will catalog and digitize an archive on Japanese Christians in the 17th-19th centuries.

The NY Public Library picks the top 25 books that changed the course of history.

Love this new series, “Forgotten Canada“, from the National Post, which presents images from a partnership between the British Library and Wikipedia Commons to digitize images from 1895-1924.  Most of my dad’s side of the family passed through Canada on their way to New England and it’s fun to see these old photos.

Any other good story that I missed?  Please share!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

