Kimono card class

I’m a bit embarrassed to admit this, but I’ve never attended any program offering at a public library before!  I’ve always wanted to leave the limited space to those who couldn’t afford a similar service offered elsewhere.  And sometimes, I just plain forgot to register for things that I was really interested in.  The other day, I attended a craft class at a local library branch, so that I could finally see what these free workshops were all about, and get the chance to learn how to make something new.

kimono 1

The class was on how to make a fabric kimono card and was underwritten by the San Francisco Friends of the Public Library.  There was just under 20 people in attendance.  Everyone was female, but there was a wide range of age groups and experience levels there.

kimono 2

Although I have done origami projects my whole life, several others had never done origami before.   This small fact illustrated another reason to me on why library services are so important.  For me, it was an excuse to make some crafts and learn a new origami project.  For one woman, it was the chance to learn to make fabric kimonos so she could make a large quilt with them and expand her quilting skills.  For another woman, it was the chance to try origami for the first time ever.  It was just a nice, however small, connection to the library’s mission of providing access to knowledge and continued learning.

kimono 3

The teacher showed us how to make the kimono with paper first, then we each were able to make two fabric kimonos.  I made one into a card and kept the other loose to use as an ornament.  It was relatively easy, even for the people new to origami, and the teacher was patient, circulating around the room and helping everyone.  Very fun!  I definitely plan to attend more public library offerings in the future.

If you’re interested in learning how to make a (paper) origami kimono yourself, here are instructions similar to what I learned, from Yellow Origami Bird.   The paper and fabric that I used at the workshop was 15 x 3 3/4″, which makes a finished kimono of about 4 1/4″.

One thought on “Kimono card class

  1. Pingback: 2014 in review | exbibliolibris

Leave a Reply

