Half Moon Bay Library

It’s been an exhausting past few months, but I have survived my first semester taking two classes while working full-time.  I took a reference class and Archives & Manuscripts and really enjoyed them both.  It was my first semester taking electives and I think I chose well.  After taking the archives class, I’m still unclear about if I want to pursue that career path, but I still have time to think about it.  I think the reference class will help no matter what type of LIS organization I end up in.

To celebrate the end of the semester, I went down to Half Moon Bay with a friend for a little day trip.  Half Moon Bay is about half an hour south of San Francisco and is a cute little coastal town.  While there, we wandered around and checked out the architecture from my architectural guidebook.

One place I wanted to check out while we were there was the Half Moon Bay Library, part of the San Mateo County Library System.  For my management class (LIBR204), my group wrote our strategic plan based on this library.

hmblibrary1

The Half Moon Bay Library is on a quiet side street, near Main Street and a school.  The library is the only one that serves about 4,000 people from the town of Half Moon Bay, plus unincorporated areas around it.  It’s  the main community event space in the town.  They’re currently trying to reconstruct the library, using environmentally friendly materials, to expand the library to provide more meeting space, as well as more physical and technological resources.  The library partners with local community groups to help provide services, including monthly therapy dog visits and free legal assistance.

hmb19

It’s a nondescript building on the outside, but had some nice displays and things inside.  It was a Sunday and it was packed.  About a quarter of the town is Spanish-speaking, and the library has programs and services in English and Spanish.  There were large sections of Spanish language materials, and a big children’s area.  The library has a bookmobile that visits local schools and six laptops that are available to use in the library.  It also has a Facebook page.

It was nice to get a chance to finally see the library in person.  To see the rest of my pics on pretty Half Moon Bay, please see my post on my personal blog.

One thought on “Half Moon Bay Library

  1. Pingback: 2014 in review | exbibliolibris

Leave a Reply

